Gmail: how to share an account between several users?

Gmail is used by millions of people around the world. In the lot, there are many individuals, but also companies and even some administrations. If you need to work with several people on the same account, then be aware that there is an option to share an address with other users. And the best thing about the story is that it won't be necessary to get your hands dirty to enjoy it.

First of all, it is important to understand that the people with whom you will share your address will be able to access the messaging system but also the associated address book.

Gmail How To Share An Account Between Several Users

Sharing a Gmail account is super easy… when you know how to do it.

They may also send messages on your behalf.

Gmail imposes a limit of 10 employees for normal accounts

Google has still implemented several restrictions to avoid unpleasant surprises. These people will not be able to access the advanced settings of the account and they will not be able to change their password or even access all the associated options.

In addition, the American giant imposes another limitation: a box can be shared with a maximum of 10 users. If you need to go further, then you will have to take out the credit card and subscribe to the Google Apps for Work, Google Apps for Education or Google Apps for Government programs.

The limit will then increase to a maximum of 25 users.

In any case, the method to follow does not change. The first thing to do, therefore, will be to connect to the account and go to the settings by clicking on the button shaped like a nut. It is placed above the messages, on the right.

Gmail will then show you several tabs. Simply click on the “accounts and import” section and look for the part named “delegate access to your account”.

Then proceed by clicking on the link “add a new account”. The service will open a floating window and you will only have to enter the address of your employee to give him access. He will receive a message immediately with all the necessary instructions.

Also in this famous area, you will also find an option to mark conversations as read if other users open them, or to leave them marked as unread.

To summarize :

  • Open your browser.
  • Go to Gmail.
  • Click on the nut-shaped button.
  • Go look for the “preferences” option.
  • Click on the “Accounts and Import” tab.
  • Scroll down to the “Delegate access to your account” section.
  • Click on the “Add another account” link.
  • Enter the email address of your employee.
  • Confirm your choice.

What about removing access then? You just have to go back to the settings of the box, in the same tab, and click on the delete button. Note that setting up sharing may take a few minutes.

Gmail How To Share An Account Between Several Users 1

And a little catch for the road.

0 replies on “Gmail: how to share an account between several users?”