Gmail offers a lot of useful functions, it's true, but it is not perfect for all that and it lacks finally two or three small things to be really complete. The silver lining is that there are also a ton of service- oriented extensions out there, and Cryptext is precisely one of the lot.
This is probably not the first extension designed for Gmail, but it at least has the merit of setting the bar very high and it thus groups together a ton of options to go further with the service.
Thanks to it, for example, we will be able to encrypt all our attachments with a single click. Better still, we will also be able to track our emails and call them back at any time.
Install and configure Cryptext
But now, like all complete solutions, Cryptext is not easy to learn and that's what prompted me to take up the (electronic) pen to write this article.
If you want to take advantage of all the functions mentioned above, you will have to start by installing the extension on your browser. The good news is that it is compatible with Chrome, Firefox and Safari. Better, it is also possible to find a client for Outlook.
In any case, you just have to go to the publisher's website to download and install it.
When this is done, you will have to go back to Gmail and refresh the page. A message will then appear in the middle of the window, asking if you really want to activate the tool. It will also need several specific permissions, including being able to view and manage your mail.
It will then refresh the page and it will launch a wizard to explain the basics to you.
The first thing to know about it is that it is not activated by default on the mails you send and you will therefore have to remember to activate the function by checking the associated box. If you do, then two icons will appear on the right.
Through them, you can add an attachment and set an expiration date for your message.
Importantly, with Cryptext, you will be able to send 1 GB files with your Gmail without having to go through a third party service. By clicking on the send button, the extension will automatically encrypt your message and route it to its recipient.
Above the toolbar you will also find a button titled “Email Activity”. If you click on it, you will display the list of all the messages sent with the tool with a button allowing you to “recall” and therefore delete them from your contact box.
It will work every time, even if he read the missive. Moreover, if he does, then you will see the date and time when he opened the message, as well as where he was at that time.
I haven't had any bad surprises so far. The plugin behaves well and it didn't crash my mailbox. It is completely free for now and throughout the beta.